Reference 2340 from the New Jules Collection pre-selected for the 2016 edition of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Geneve (GPHG) in the Men’s category


Urban Jurgensen is proud to announce that our Reference 2340 is among the pre-selected watches competing in the GPHG 16th edition for the Men’s category prize and the Aiguille d’Or - the most prestigious award in watchmaking. Urban Jurgensen has previously been awarded the GPHG prize in Men’s category in 2014 with the reference 1142C detent escapement.

The Urban Jürgensen 2340 WG watch was inspired by the centuries of classic fine watchmaking using grenage dial techniques, and with a desire to create a contemporary piece that combined old handcrafted techniques with a subtle modern approach to dial layout and invoking a level of simplicity that almost disguises the difficulties in execution. All dial indications are done by engraving, with hand filled lacquer that is manually flat polished before the dial is finished by hand grenage. This makes every dial unique, as the grenage process mandates finishing one dial at a time to avoid contamination and oxidation of the silver grenage powder mix. Lastly the use of “Corne de Vache” inspired lugs brings the piece a distinct contemporary but still classic form, elevating the final result to an understated but clearly defined level of excellence.

Urban Jurgensen invites enthusiasts to vote for reference 2340, among the 72 pre-selected watches, as its choice for the Public Prize

The final results will be announced at the prize-giving ceremony that will be held on Thursday November 10th 2016 at the Théâtre du Léman in Geneva.

Reference 2340 will be taking part in the travelling exhibition featuring the 72 pre-selected watches according to the following schedule:
Seoul: Lotte Hotel, 10 – 13 October 2016
Rome: Palazzo Colonna, 26 – 29 October 2016
Geneva: Cité du Temps, 2 – 12 November 2016
Moreover, the prize-winning watches of the 2016 edition will be exhibited in Dubai as part of the second Dubai Watch Week, from 15 – 19 November 2016.

View the official pre-selection: